What are the Different Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease?

Patient discussing kidney disease with their doctor.

Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) is a progressive condition marked by a gradual loss of kidney function over time. It is a critical health issue that affects millions of people worldwide. Understanding the different stages of CKD is essential for early detection, management and slowing its progression. This article delves into the stages of CKD, highlighting the importance of proactive and preventive measures in managing this condition. 

Stage 1: Early Detection with Normal Function 

Stage 1 CKD is characterized by a normal glomerular filtration rate (GFR) of 90 or greater, indicating that the kidneys are functioning well. However, there may be evidence of kidney damage, such as protein in the urine. At this early stage, individuals often do not experience symptoms, making it crucial to identify CKD through routine screenings, especially for those at risk. 

Stage 2: Mild Reduction in Kidney Function 

In Stage 2, the GFR decreases to between 60 and 89, signaling a mild loss of kidney function. Similar to Stage 1, symptoms are typically absent, but signs of kidney damage, like proteinuria or physical damage, may be present. Early detection and management are vital to slow the progression. 

Stage 3: Moderate Damage and Symptoms Begin 

Stage 3 CKD is where moderate kidney damage occurs, with a GFR between 30 and 59. This stage is further divided into two substages (3a and 3b) to reflect the severity of kidney function decline. Symptoms such as fatigue, swelling in extremities, and changes in urination may start to appear. Stage 3 marks a critical point for intervention to manage symptoms and prevent further damage. 

Stage 4: Severe Damage and Preparing for Kidney Failure 

With a GFR between 15 and 29, Stage 4 CKD indicates severe damage to the kidneys. Symptoms become more pronounced, including swelling, back pain, and changes in urination frequency. This stage requires close monitoring and preparation for potential kidney failure treatments, such as dialysis or transplantation. 

Stage 5: Kidney Failure 

Stage 5, also known as end-stage renal disease (ESRD), is characterized by a GFR of less than 15 or by patients already on dialysis. At this stage, the kidneys have lost nearly all their ability to function effectively, leading to the accumulation of waste products in the body. Treatment options include dialysis or a kidney transplant to replace the lost kidney function. 

The Importance of Proactive Management 

Managing CKD involves a comprehensive approach that includes regular monitoring, lifestyle changes, and possibly medication to control symptoms and slow progression. Organizations like Renalogic offer solutions such as ImpactCare, which focuses on early identification and specialized intervention to manage CKD effectively and prevent progression to more severe stages. 


Chronic Kidney Disease is a significant health concern that progresses through various stages, each with its challenges and management strategies. Early detection and proactive management are crucial in slowing the disease’s progression and maintaining quality of life. By understanding the stages of CKD and engaging in preventive care, individuals can take meaningful steps toward preserving their kidney health. 

Share This